Summerside Heritage and Culture Award Winners

On February 22nd, 2019 the City of Summerside celebrated Heritage Week with the annual Mayor’s Heritage Tea. It was a great afternoon which included special guests, refreshments and a performance by story-teller Shelley Stetson.

The Summerside Heritage and Culture Awards were also presented.

Congratulations to the recipients:

Heritage Activity Awards

Allan Graham – in recognition of documenting railway history of Summerside & Prince Co.

Mary Ann Green, in recognition restoration and repatriation of the Dalton-Green piano

Eddy Schwartz – for artistic interpretation of Summerside’s Heritage Buildings

Natural Heritage Activity
Bedeque Bay Environmental Management Association – revitalizing ‘the old ice pond’

Volunteer of the Year Award
Wendell Cameron – in recognition of developing concerts and artists venue Trinity UC

Youth Volunteer of the Year Award
Dominique LaPierre – in recognition of thousands of hours dedicated to arts education

Publication of the Year Award
Katherine Dewar – for “Called To Serve: Georgina Pope – Canadian Military Nursing Heroine”

AWARD OF HONOUR – (Heritage Activity)
Mr. Windsor Corney, recognition of decades of historical research & record keeping

AWARD OF HONOUR – (Cultural Activity)
Harold and Marnie Noye – recognition of their huge impact over many decades in music and community leadership


Photographs of the Award Recipients:



Comments are closed.