The MacNaught History Centre and Archives is a research centre devoted to genealogy and community history for the town of Summerside and the County of Prince. It also provides a unique stepping off point for finding information on the remainder of the Island. The services available are of use to all levels and interests, from the casual researcher to the serious historian or writer.
The resources cover a broad range. Information about Census Records, Cemetery Tombstone Records and Microfilm can be found under separate headings. This page will summarize some of the other components of the research materials available in the History Centre.
Our principal collection of books is shelved in the following groupings:
General PEI history Special interest
Community histories Stories / Songs
Family histories Architecture
Biographies Summerside history [View]
A separate section is devoted to rare books, including Past and Present of Prince Edward Island, a 1906 publication that includes biographical sketches of prominent Islanders of the day. Two excellent atlases show each lot with landowners identified: The Illustrated Historical Atlas of Prince Edward Island published by J. H. Meacham in 1880 and The Atlas of Prince Edward Island published by the Cummins Map Company in 1928.
The MacNaught History Centre maintains a vertical file consisting mainly of photocopied newspaper articles that have been printed since January 2001 about matters of local interest. Older articles from newspapers, magazines, or other printed sources are added as opportunities arise. These files will grow in extent and value as the years pass.
There are three sections to the vertical file. The folders arranged by subject heading, with the focus being Summerside, form the largest portion of the file. The other sections are family files, predominately of the Summerside area, and the community files in which information about other Prince County communities is kept.